Brad Wardell's site for talking about the customization of Windows.
Published on May 24, 2015 By Frogboy In PC Gaming

I think there’s a special place in hell for people who spend 90 hours playing a game only to tell others that it’s not worth playing.


Comments (Page 1)
on May 24, 2015

Maybe they're related to those that drink 3 quarters of a bottle of red and then want a refund claiming it's corked...

on May 24, 2015

90 hours is a lot. Unless you started with high expectations, kept giving the game a lot of chances, but ultimately decided it did not meet your expectations. I'm sure there are a few of those. Of course, we have seen countless threads here where people essentially rage quit because they didn't get the one feature they, for whatever reason, decided was necessary for the game to be any fun for them. That I don't understand.

on May 24, 2015

On a more serious note though, Steam statistics aren't reliable.  I often leave games running for days on end, sneaking in a few minutes of play here and there.  The discrepancy between how much time Steam thinks I've been playing a game and how much I actually have is often quite massive.

 

on May 25, 2015

I'm sorry to see the game getting a so-so review score, but on the bright side, most of the negative reviews rooted in technical issues rather the 'game itself'.

 

On a side note: do you think it's possible / worthwhile automate testing by recording early access player actions as macros and playing them out across less active EA players? I'd happily sign up for something like that.

on May 25, 2015


I think there’s a special place in hell for people who spend 90 hours playing a game only to tell others that it’s not worth playing.
Okay, that's bad faith. If they don't spend 90 hours, then they're told "how can you judge a game you've barely played".

 

For instance, I've played SotS 2 hundred of hours, and I've hated every single one of them. I was just trying to find a setup that would give me an enjoyable experience because I wanted to like the game. I'm betting it's the same thing here.

on May 25, 2015

I also don't think that playing a game a lot negates criticism from that player. For example, after 40 hours of warlock 2 I had the sudden realization that it was all just randomized bullshit the "AI" was throwing at you.

on May 25, 2015

If they were in early access, 90 hours is a decent tester that still isn't happy with it after release.

on May 25, 2015

I agree with the above posters. I think you're looking at it from Brad's perspective, Brad. You assume that people who have played it that long have obviously enjoyed it enough to find 90 hours worth of play time. I'm not saying that they haven't, but it's perfectly possible that they've just been trying to find some thing, some setup, that works for them and still can't.

 

I've done it before. Maybe not at 90 hours, as I don't personally have 90 hours to give a game I don't like, but others might.

on May 25, 2015

I agree 90 hours does not make it wierd to make a bad review. 

on May 25, 2015

Maybe I'm crazy, but if I did not enjoy a game I would sure as hell not spend 90 hours on it trying to disprove the theory. That's way past 'good money after bad' and deep into masochism.

Heck, even games I like I rarely play that much...

on May 25, 2015

if you've played the game 8hours a day for 2 weeks straight or equiv and you hate it that's crazy IMO.  20 hours? Even 40 hours, sure. You're welcome to disagree Of course.

on May 25, 2015

Frogboy

if you've played the game 8hours a day for 2 weeks straight or equiv and you hate it that's crazy IMO.  20 hours? Even 40 hours, sure. You're welcome to disagree Of course.

with that bug that cause the game process to hang, it is possible they played a little, quit the game, came back many hours later, found out the game was still active, cancelled it, restarted it.  I have AMD Gaming evolved installed (Raptr) and it will record these sessions as time played, even if it was just the process running.  I think Steam records game time the same way, so it may not be that reliable.  Maybe they really only played 20-40hrs.

on May 25, 2015

There's no way the guy burned 90 hours playing a game he didn't like in under 2 weeks, anyone with that time in a game this recent is probably a beta tester wondering the same thing I am.

on May 25, 2015

On the flip side, no one takes a review seriously, where the reviewer only spent a couple hours on the game.